Amazing facts of Solar System

Interesting information about the solar system


There are 8 planets in the solar system – Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Varuna.

Pluto was the 9th planet in the solar system, but scientists removed Pluto from the planet category because it was too small.

Planets also have satellites which revolve around their planets.

The Sun is located at a distance of about 30,000 light years from our Milky Way Galaxy.


The Sun is revolving around the Milky Way at a speed of 250 km/s.

The time taken to revolve around the Milky Way is 250 million years, also called cosmic years.

The Sun rotates on its axis from east to west.
Our solar system came into existence about 4.6 billion years ago.
The Sun is 1.3 million times bigger than our Earth.

Jupiter is the largest planet and the smallest planet is Mercury.

The diameter of the Sun is 13 lakh 92 thousand kilometers, and it is 110 times more than the diameter of the Earth.


Mercury, Venus, Saturn, Jupiter and Mars these five planets can be seen with open eyes.

Venus is the hottest planet in the solar system.

The Sun consists of 71 percent hydrogen, 26.5 percent helium and 2.5 percent other elements.

In the Solar System, the Sun and the celestial bodies are bound to each other by the force of gravity.

Sun is the largest body in our solar system.

The bodies in the solar system are divided into three categories – conventional planets, dwarf planets and minor solar system bodies.

The traditional planets are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Varuna.


The dwarf planets are Pluto, Eris, Ceres, Makemake, Haumea.

Minor Solar System objects include comets, satellites and other small celestial bodies.

There are billions of very small objects in the solar system which are called comets or tail stars.

Moon orbits 6 planets and 3 dwarf planets.

Whenever the sky is discussed or the solar system is also discussed, the planet is first talked about in the solar system. Which make all these planets different from each other, these planets are divided into two categories, the first four planets are called Terrestrial Planets, which are of slightly solid type, then the other four planets are known as Gas Giants. It is a little less solid, mostly composed of gas, the first four planets are Mercury, Venus Earth Mars, all of these come in the Terrestrial category and Jupiter. Saturn.Uranus.Neptune. Come under the category of gas gents.


Make a one-time donation

Make a monthly donation

Make a yearly donation

Choose an amount


Or enter a custom amount


Your contribution is appreciated.

Your contribution is appreciated.

Your contribution is appreciated.

DonateDonate monthlyDonate yearly

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s